REGION III – Central Luzon

REGION III – Bibingkang galapong, Ube halaya, Meringue at Tocino



The plain of Central Luzon is one of the foremost rice production areas in the world; but the region is also immediately north of the Manila metropolitan area and is a significant location for much of the Philippine’s innovative non-agricultural economy.

It is also the location of Mt. Pinatubo, site of the largest volcanic eruption in living memory, the location of the seat of the revolutionary government in 1899, the location of the Bataan Death March, and innumerable less well known but important events in the history of the Philippines.

Central Luzon (or Gitnang Luzon in Filipino) , also known as Region III (or Region 3), is an administrative division or region of the Republic of the Philippines, primarily serve to organize the 7 provinces of the vast central plain of the island of Luzon (the largest island), for administrative convenience. The region contains the largest plain in the country and produces most of the country’s rice supply, earning itself the nickname “Rice Bowl of the Philippines”. Its provinces are: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Zambales.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s